Health Canada warns of risks related to synthetic marihuana products

Starting date:
February 27, 2013
Posting date:
February 27, 2013
Type of communication:
Advisory
Subcategory:
Drugs
Source of recall:
Health Canada
Issue:
Important Safety Information, Unauthorized products
Audience:
General Public
Identification number:
RA-23621

Issue

Health Canada is warning consumers about the risks associated with “synthetic marihuana” products sold in Canada, which are typically products containing plant material that has been sprayed or coated with synthetic cannabinoids. These products are often marketed as “smokeable herbal incense”, “exotic herbal incense”, “legal highs” or as alternatives to marihuana, and are believed to be smoked by consumers for their cannabis-like effects, despite the fact that they are often labelled as “not for human consumption”.

These products may be available for sale at some convenience stores, specialty tobacco stores and head shops. Health Canada does not recommend consuming any of these products as they are rarely labelled with an accurate ingredient list and consuming them may lead to adverse health effects. Effects that have been reported following the use of these products include restlessness, agitation, dizziness, anxiety/panic attacks, memory loss, acute psychosis, seizures, rapid or irregular heartbeat, high blood pressure, shortness of breath, chest pain, changes in blood sugar and electrolyte levels, and nausea/vomiting.

Products containing ingredients that are similar synthetic preparations of cannabis are regulated under the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA). All activities associated with them, (e.g., production, distribution, import, export, etc.) are illegal in Canada. Law enforcement is authorized to seize these products at points of entry and/or remove them from retail outlets.

Products affected

Examples of products that should be avoided include: “IZMS”, “Herbal Highs”, “Spice”, “K2”,  “Yucatan Fire”, “Earth Impact”, “London Underground”.

Consumers should note that this is not a definitive list as new “synthetic marihuana” products appear on the market on a regular basis.

What you should do

Do not purchase or consume products labelled as “synthetic marihuana”, “smokeable herbal incense” or “legal high”. Consuming these products may lead to adverse health effects and it is illegal if they contain ingredients that are similar synthetic preparations of cannabis, which are regulated under the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA).

Consumers who have these products in their possession should contact their legal counsel for advice on how to properly dispose of them.

Who is affected

Any person that possesses, produces, sells, imports and/or exports a “synthetic marihuana” product.

Media enquiries

Health Canada
(613) 957-2983

Public enquiries

(613) 957-2991
1-866 225-0709

What Health Canada is doing

Health Canada continues to work with its federal, provincial and municipal partners, including law enforcement, in collecting information about these “synthetic marihuana” products, and in making sure that retailers are aware that they cannot be legally sold in Canada. Products containing controlled substances may be seized at points of entry into Canada and/or removed from retail outlets.

Mise en garde de Santé Canada contre les risques des produits contenant de la marihuana synthétique

Date de début :
27 février 2013
Date d’affichage :
27 février 2013
Type de communication :
Avis
Sous-catégorie :
Médicaments
Source :
Santé Canada
Problème :
Renseignements importants en matière d'innocuité, Produits non autorisés
Public :
Grand public
Numéro d’identification :
RA-23621

Problème

Santé Canada met en garde les consommateurs contre les risques que comportent les produits contenant de la « marihuana synthétique » vendus au Canada. Ces produits sont généralement des matières végétales enduites ou recouvertes de cannabinoïdes synthétiques. Ils sont souvent commercialisés comme de l’encens à base d’herbes à fumer, de l’encens exotique à base d’herbes ou un euphorisant légal, ou comme une solution de rechange à la marihuana. Ils seraient fumés par les consommateurs pour leurs effets semblables à ceux du cannabis, même s’il est indiqué sur leur étiquette qu’ils ne sont pas destinés à la consommation humaine.

Les produits peuvent être vendus par certains dépanneurs, tabagies et head-shops (bazars). Santé Canada déconseille de consommer ces produits, car leurs listes d’ingrédients sont souvent inexactes et ils peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur la santé. Parmi les effets signalés après la consommation de ces produits, mentionnons notamment la nervosité, l’agitation, des étourdissements, des crises de panique ou d’angoisse, des pertes de mémoire, des psychoses aiguës, des convulsions, un rythme cardiaque rapide ou irrégulier, l’hypertension artérielle, l’essoufflement, des douleurs thoraciques, des variations du taux de glycémie et des niveaux d’électrolytes, des nausées et des vomissements.

Les produits qui contiennent des préparations synthétiques semblables au cannabis tombent sous le coup de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances. Toutes les activités connexes (c.-à-d. production, distribution, importation, exportation, etc.) sont illégales au Canada. Les corps policiers sont autorisés à saisir ces produits aux points d’entrée et à les retirer des commerces de détail.

Produits touchés

Voici des exemples de produits à éviter : « IZMS », « Herbal Highs », « Spice », « K2 », « Yucatan Fire », « Earth Impact » et « London Underground ».

Les consommateurs doivent prendre note que la liste n’est pas définitive, car de nouveaux produits contenant de la « marihuana synthétique » arrivent régulièrement sur le marché.

Ce que vous devrez faire

Ne pas acheter ni consommer de produits portant les mentions « synthetic marihuana » (marihuana synthétique), « legal high » (euphorisant légal) sur l’étiquette. La consommation de ces produits peut avoir des effets néfastes sur la santé et est illégale si les produits contiennent des préparations synthétiques semblables au cannabis, qui tombent sous le coup de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances.

Les consommateurs qui ont ces produits en leur possession devraient consulter un avocat pour savoir comment s’en débarrasser adéquatement.

Personnes touchées

Toute personne qui possède, produit, vend, importe ou exporte un produit contenant de la « marihuana synthétique ».

Renseignements aux médias

Santé Canada
613-957-2983

Renseignements au public

613-957-2991
1-866-225-0709

Ce que fait Santé Canada

Santé Canada continue de travailler avec ses partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux, y compris les corps de police, pour recueillir de l’information au sujet des produits contenant de la « marihuana synthétique » et pour s’assurer que les détaillants savent que leur vente est illégale au Canada. Les produits contenant des substances contrôlées peuvent être saisis aux points d’entrée au Canada et retirés des commerces de détail.