Recalls and alerts more than 4 years old are automatically archived. While this information can still be accessed in the database, it has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Marketed leather cleaners and liquid incense are being used to get high: Poses serious dangers to Canadians

Starting date:
May 16, 2013
Posting date:
May 16, 2013
Type of communication:
Advisory
Subcategory:
Drugs
Source of recall:
Health Canada
Issue:
Important Safety Information
Audience:
General Public
Identification number:
RA-29269

Issue

Health Canada has been made aware of three products (“Rochefort”, “Rush” and “Amsterdam Special”), commonly known as “poppers”, labelled to contain alkyl nitrites. These products, labelled as leather cleaners and/or liquid incense, are known to be used by consumers to get “high” and may pose serious risks to health if they are inhaled or swallowed.

What you should do

  • Consult your healthcare practitioner with any questions or concerns regarding use of these products.
  • Report any adverse reaction potentially related to these products to Health Canada.
  • Contact Health Canada’s toll-free line at 1-800-267-9675 with questions or complaints about these products.

Who is affected

Canadians who have used any of these products, particularly people with certain medical conditions (including recent head trauma, bleeding into the head, glaucoma, heart disease) and those taking certain medications (particularly drugs used to treat erectile dysfunction, and other drugs such as high blood pressure medications, certain migraine drugs, and high doses of aspirin) and illicit drugs.

Background

Alkyl nitrites, such as amyl nitrite, butyl nitrite and isobutyl nitrite, are considered drugs under the Food and Drugs Act, and require an approval by Health Canada to be legally sold in Canada. Health Canada is not aware of credible evidence confirming that alkyl nitrites are legitimately used in consumer products such as leather cleaners, room odourisers or liquid incense.  Health Canada's view is that even though these products are labelled as consumer products, they are manufactured and sold so that users can “get a high”.

Products containing alkyl nitrites could pose serious risks, including death, to Canadians, depending on the amount used, how frequently they are used and how long they are used for, as well as the person’s health and the other medications they may be taking. Since it is difficult to control how much is inhaled, people can accidentally overdose. Swallowing these products can lead to serious medical complications and may be fatal.

Serious side effects can include: potentially life-threatening low blood pressure, especially when used with drugs to treat erectile dysfunction (sildenafil, tadalafil, vardenafil); rapid or irregular heart rhythm; and a decrease in the blood's ability to carry oxygen (methemoglobinemia) when used at high doses or repeatedly over a long period. Other side effects include difficulty breathing, muscle weakness, loss of consciousness (fainting or passing out), respiratory depression, and damage to the liver or kidney.

People with glaucoma, recent head trauma or bleeding into the head are also at risk, as are those using certain drugs for high blood pressure, migraines, and high doses of aspirin.

Alcohol may make the side effects of “poppers” worse, as could their use with illicit drugs. Inhaled alkyl nitrites can cause harm to the fetus during pregnancy. Users of inhaled alkyl nitrites have also suffered burns as the vapour is highly flammable.

Report health or safety concerns

To report suspected adverse reaction to these or other health products, please contact Health Canada’s Canada Vigilance Program toll-free at 1-866-234-2345, or complete a Canada Vigilance Reporting Form and send to us using one of these methods:

Marketed Health Products Directorate
Ottawa, ON, Address Locator 0701E
K1A 0K9

Rochefort

2013-04-19 | Health products

Recall

Rush

2013-04-19 | Health products

Recall
Advisory

Media enquiries

Health Canada
613-957-2983

Public enquiries

613-957-2991
1-866-225-0709

What Health Canada is doing

Health Canada has requested that the distributors and retailer stop the sale of “Rochefort”, “Rush” and “Amsterdam Special”, along with any other products containing alkyl nitrites. Health Canada is also working with the Canada Border Services Agency to stop any future shipments of these products from entering Canada.

A Yukon retailer (Adult Temptations, 211 Black Street, Whitehorse) where these three products were found has agreed to stop selling them.

Lockerroom Marketing Ltd. (694 Derwent Way, Delta, B.C.) has been distributing “Rochefort”, “Rush”, “Amsterdam Special” and other products containing alkyl nitrites. Health Canada is following up with this company regarding the stop sale and recall of these products.

Two other distributors, SD Variations Inc., 2801, boulevard Le Corbusier, Laval, Québec and Discount DVD Depot, 8A-994 Westport Crescent, Mississauga, Ontario have stopped the sale of the products they distributed. SD Variations Inc. has also voluntarily recalled the products they distributed.

Images

Select thumbnail to enlarge - opens in a new window

Des produits nettoyants pour articles en cuir et de l’encens liquide utilisés pour causer un état euphorique présentent de graves dangers pour les Canadiens

Date de début :
16 mai 2013
Date d’affichage :
16 mai 2013
Type de communication :
Avis
Sous-catégorie :
Médicaments
Source :
Santé Canada
Problème :
Renseignements importants en matière d'innocuité
Public :
Grand public
Numéro d’identification :
RA-29269

Problème

Santé Canada a appris l’existence de trois produits (Rochefort, Rush et Amsterdam Special) communément appelés poppers, dont l’étiquette indique qu’ils contiennent des nitrites d’alkyle. Ces produits, étiquetés comme nettoyants pour articles en cuir et/ou encens liquide, seraient utilisés pour leur propriété euphorique et posent des risques graves pour la santé s’ils sont inhalés ou avalés.

Ce que vous devrez faire

  • Consultez un professionnel de la santé si vous avez des questions ou préoccupations sur l’utilisation de ces produits.
  • Signalez tout effet indésirable potentiellement lié à ces produits à Santé Canada.
  • Composez sans frais le 1-800-267-9675 pour faire part de toute question ou de toute plainte relative à ces produits.

Personnes touchées

Les Canadiens qui ont utilisé ces produits, en particulier les personnes présentant certains problèmes de santé récents (comme un traumatisme crânien, des saignements à la tête, un glaucome, une maladie du cœur) et celles qui prennent certains médicaments (en particulier les médicaments utilisés pour traiter la dysfonction érectile et d’autres médicaments comme ceux utilisés pour traiter l’hypertension artérielle et des migraines et de l’aspirine à dose élevée) et de la drogue illicite.

Contexte

Les nitrites d’alkyle, comme le nitrite d’amyle, le nitrite de butyle et le nitrite d’isobutyle, sont assujettis à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et nécessitent l’approbation de Santé Canada pour être vendus légalement au Canada. Santé Canada ne possède aucune preuve crédible qui confirme que les nitrites d’alkyle sont légitimement utilisés dans des produits de consommation comme les nettoyants pour articles en cuir, les parfums d’ambiance ou l’encens liquide. Santé Canada estime que même si l’étiquette de ces produits indique qu’il s’agit de produits de consommation, ils sont fabriqués et vendus pour causer un état euphorique.

Les produits contenant des nitrites d’alkyle peuvent causer des risques graves, voire la mort, en fonction de la quantité utilisée, de la fréquence et de la durée d’utilisation, de la santé de la personne qui consomme et des autres médicaments qu’elle prend. Étant donné qu’il est difficile de contrôler la quantité inhalée, son utilisation peut entraîner une surdose accidentelle. Avaler ces produits peut entraîner de graves complications médicales et peut s’avérer fatal.

Les effets secondaires graves peuvent comprendre une hypotension potentiellement mortelle, surtout lorsque cette substance est utilisée avec des médicaments pour traiter la dysfonction érectile (sildénafil, tadalafil, vardénafil); un rythme cardiaque rapide ou irrégulier; et une réduction de la capacité du sang de transporter l’oxygène (méthémoglobinémie) lorsque le produit est utilisé à des doses élevées ou de façon répétée sur une longue période. Les autres effets secondaires comprennent de la difficulté à respirer, une faiblesse musculaire, une perte de connaissance (évanouissement), une dépression respiratoire et des dommages au foie ou aux reins.

Les personnes qui souffrent de glaucome et qui ont récemment eu un traumatisme crânien ou des saignements à la tête sont aussi à risque, de même que celles qui utilisent certains médicaments pour traiter l’hypertension, les migraines et qui prennent des doses élevées d’aspirine.

L’alcool peut aggraver les effets secondaires des poppers, de même que leur utilisation avec d’autres médicaments illicites. L’inhalation des nitrites d’alkyle peut endommager le fœtus pendant la grossesse. Les personnes qui ont inhalé des nitrites d’alkyle ont aussi souffert de brûlures, car les vapeurs sont hautement inflammables.

Signaler un problème lié à la santé ou à la sécurité

Pour signaler un effet indésirable présumé à un produit de santé, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme Canada Vigilance de Santé Canada en composant sans frais le 1-866-234-2345 ou en remplissant un formulaire de déclaration de Canada Vigilance et en nous le faisant parvenir de l’une des façons suivantes :

  • Par télécopieur : 1-866-678-6789
  • Par Internet : Medeffet Canada
  • Par la poste : Programme Canada Vigilance

Direction des produits de santé commercialisés
Ottawa (Ontario) Indice de l’adresse 0701E
K1A 0K9

Rochefort

2013-04-19 | Produits de santé

Rappel

Rush

2013-04-19 | Produits de santé

Rappel

Renseignements aux médias

Santé Canada
613-957-2983

Renseignements au public

613-957-2991
1-866-225-0709

Ce que fait Santé Canada

Santé Canada a demandé aux distributeurs et au détaillant d’arrêter de vendre Rochefort, Rush et Amsterdam Special, ainsi que tout autre produit qui contient des nitrites d’alkyle. Santé Canada collabore aussi avec l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada pour empêcher toute importation de ces produits au Canada.

Un détaillant du Yukon (Adult Temptations, 211 Black Street, Whitehorse) qui vendait ces trois produits, a accepté d’en arrêter la vente.

Lockerroom Marketing Ltd. (694 Derwent Way, Delta, B.C.) a distribué Rochefort, Rush et Amsterdam Special et d’autres produits contenant des nitrites d’alkyle. Santé Canada s’assure que cette entreprise cesse de vendre ces produits et qu’elle procède à leur retrait.

Deux autres distributeurs, SD Variations Inc., 2801, boulevard Le Corbusier, Laval (Québec) et Discount DVD Depot, 8A-994 Westport Crescent, Mississauga (Ontario), ont arrêté de vendre les produits qu’ils distribuaient. SD Variations Inc. a aussi procédé au rappel volontaire des produits qu’il distribuait.

Images

Sélectionner une vignette pour agrandir - ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre