White-Rodgers recalls Home Heating and Cooling Thermostats

Starting date:
April 30, 2014
Posting date:
April 30, 2014
Type of communication:
Consumer Product Recall
Subcategory:
Tools and Electrical Products
Source of recall:
Health Canada
Issue:
Fire Hazard
Audience:
General Public
Identification number:
RA-39279

Joint recall with Health Canada, the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission (US CPSC) and White-Rodgers

Affected products

White-Rodgers 1F8x-04xx digital thermostats

Product description

This recall involves four models of White-Rodgers digital thermostats. The thermostats are white with blue lighted screens and have one of the following names printed on the front of them:  “COMFORTSENTRY,” “DICO,” “Emerson,” “Frigidaire,” “Maytag,” “Nutone,” “Partners Choice,” “Rheem,” “Ruud,” “Unico,” “Water Furnace,” “Westinghouse,” “White-Rodgers” or “Zonefirst.” The thermostats have a battery door on the top left corner. There are three or four buttons to the right and also below the thermostat screen.

Recalled thermostats do not show a battery icon on the left side of the screen and includes models 1F80-04xx, 1F83-04xx, 1F85-04xx and 1F86-04xx. The model numbers for the affected thermostats are shown on a sticker on the back of the thermostat or on the thermostat mounting plate.  However, the battery door location and buttons allow the thermostats to be identified without having to remove the thermostat to check the model number sticker.

Hazard identified

The alkaline batteries used in the thermostat can leak onto the circuit board posing a fire hazard.

White-Rodgers has received seven reports (four of which were in Canada) of burn damage to the thermostat, including two (one of which was in Canada) involving minor property damage. No injuries have been reported.

Health Canada has received one consumer incident report of batteries damaging the thermostat. No injuries were reported.

Number sold

Approximately 403,000 were sold in Canada and about 740,000 were sold in the United States.

Time period sold

The recalled thermostats were sold from January 2006 through December 2013 in Canada and the United States.

Place of origin

Manufactured in China.

Companies

Manufacturer
Jabil Circuits
CHINA
Distributor
White-Rodgers, a division of Emerson Climate Technologies
St. Louis
Missouri
UNITED STATES

Images (select thumbnail to enlarge - opens in a new window)


What you should do

Consumers should check thermostats for battery icon on the left side of the blue lighted screen, if the battery icon is not shown, contact White-Rodgers to receive a free repair or a replacement thermostat.

For more information, consumers can call White-Rodgers toll-free at 1-888-624-1901 from 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CT Monday through Friday or visit the Emerson White Technologies' website and click on “White-Rodgers 1F8x-04xx Thermostat Recall” for more information.

Consumers may view the release by the US CPSC on the Commission's website.

Please note that the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act prohibits recalled products from being redistributed, sold or even given away in Canada.

Health Canada would like to remind Canadians to report any health or safety incidents related to the use of this product or any other consumer product or cosmetic by filling out the Consumer Product Incident Report Form.

White-Rodgers rappelle des thermostats pour le chauffage et la climatisation de la maison

Date de début :
30 avril 2014
Date d’affichage :
30 avril 2014
Type de communication :
Rappel de produits de consommation
Sous-catégorie :
Outils et produits électriques
Source :
Santé Canada
Problème :
Risque d’incendie
Public :
Grand public
Numéro d’identification :
RA-39279

Avis de rappel conjoint de Santé Canada, de la Commission américaine de surveillance des produits de consommation (CPSC) et de White-Rodgers

Produits touchés

Thermostats numériques 1F8x-04xx de White-Rodgers

Description du produit

Le présent rappel vise quatre modèles de thermostats numériques de White-Rodgers. Les thermostats sont blancs et sont munis d'un écran bleu. L'une des inscriptions suivantes figure à l'avant du produit : « COMFORTSENTRY », « DICO », « Emerson », « Frigidaire », « Maytag », « Nutone », « Partners Choice », « Rheem », « Ruud », « Unico », « Water Furnace », « Westinghouse », « White-Rodgers » ou « Zonefirst ». Le panneau d'accès aux piles est situé dans le coin supérieur gauche. Les thermostats sont munis de trois à quatre boutons, situés à droite et sous l'écran.

Aucune icône de pile ne figure à gauche, dans l'écran des thermostats rappelés. Les modèles 1F80-04xx, 1F83-04xx, 1F85-04xx et 1F86-04xx sont visés. Le numéro de modèle des thermostats rappelés figure sur l'étiquette à l'arrière du produit ou sur la plaque de fixation. L'emplacement du panneau d'accès aux piles et les boutons permettent toutefois d'identifier les thermostats sans avoir à les retirer du mur pour vérifier l'étiquette.

Identification du risque

Les piles alcalines utilisées dans les thermostats peuvent fuir et le liquide peut s'infiltrer jusqu'aux circuits imprimés, ce qui présente un risque d'incendie.

Sept incidents (dont quatre au Canada) ayant entraîné des dommages au thermostat ont été signalés à White-Rodgers. De ce nombre, deux (dont un au Canada) ont entraîné des dommages matériels mineurs. Aucune blessure n'a été déclarée.

Un incident où les piles ont endommagé le thermostat a été signalé à Santé Canada. Aucune blessure n'a toutefois été signalée.

Quantité vendue

Environ 403 000 thermostats ont été vendus au Canada et environ 740 000 aux États Unis.

Période de la vente

Les thermostats rappelés ont été vendus de janvier 2006 à décembre 2013 au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Lieu d’origine

Fabriqués en Chine

Entreprises

Fabricant
Jabil Circuits
CHINE
Distributeur
White-Rodgers, a division of Emerson Climate Technologies
St. Louis
Missouri
ÉTATS-UNIS

Images (sélectionner une vignette pour agrandir - ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)


Ce que vous devrez faire

Les consommateurs devraient vérifier si une icône de pile apparaît à gauche dans l'écran de leur thermostat. Si aucune icône de pile ne figure sur le produit, ils devraient communiquer avec White-Rodgers pour faire réparer gratuitement leur thermostat ou pour en recevoir un autre.

Pour en savoir davantage, ils peuvent communiquer avec White-Rodgers au numéro sans frais 1-888-624-1901, de 7 h à 18 h HC du lundi au vendredi, ou consulter le site Web de Emerson Climate Technologies (en anglais seulement), puis cliquer sur « White-Rodgers 1F8x-04xx Thermostat Recall ».

Ils peuvent également lire le communiqué publié par la CPSC sur le site Web de la Commission (en anglais seulement).

Conformément à la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation, il est interdit de redistribuer, de vendre ou même de donner les produits rappelés au Canada.

Santé Canada incite les Canadiens à signaler tout incident touchant la santé ou la sécurité lié à ce produit ou à tout autre produit de consommation ou cosmétique en remplissant le formulaire de rapport d'incident concernant un produit de consommation.