Undeclared milk in various Dairy-free Vegan Candy Bars

Starting date:
November 28, 2012
Type of communication:
Alert sub-type:
Allergy Alert
Allergen - Milk
Hazard classification:
Class 1
Source of recall:
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Recalling firm:
Lennie Ciglen Distribution Inc.
Extent of the product distribution:
CFIA reference number:

Advisory details

Ottawa, November 28, 2012 - The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and Lennie Ciglen Distribution Inc. are warning people with allergies to milk not to consume the Dairy-free Vegan Candy Bars described below. The affected products may contain milk which is not declared on the label.

All lot codes of the following Dairy-free Vegan Candy Bars, product of USA, are affected by this alert.

These products are known to have been distributed in Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec and may have been distributed nationally.

There have been no reported illnesses associated with the consumption of these products.

Consumption of these products may cause a serious or life-threatening reaction in persons with allergies to milk.

The importer, Lennie Ciglen Distribution Inc., Toronto, Ontario is voluntarily recalling the affected products from the marketplace. The CFIA is monitoring the effectiveness of the recall.

Affected products

Affected products
Brand name Common name Size UPC
Cleo's Peanut Butter Cups 43 g 8 99033 00204 0
Mahalo Candy Bar 57 g 8 99033 00203 3
Snap! Candy Bar 50 g 8 99033 00205 7
Buccaneer Candy Bar 57 g 8 99033 00202 6
Jokerz Candy Bar 60 g 8 99033 00200 2
Twilight Candy Bar 60 g 8 99033 00201 9


Select thumbnail to enlarge - opens in a new window

Media enquiries

CFIA Media Relations

For more information

For information on common food allergens, visit the Food Allergens web page.
For more information, consumers and industry can contact the CFIA by filling out the online feedback form.